Skip to content

Sign Of Peace – Indian Flag

November 12, 2009


I love my Flag. Its a sign of peace for whole world. The flag of India is called the Tiranga (tricolour in Hindi). It consists of three horizontal stripes of equal width: saffron at the top, white in the middle and green at the bottom. At the center is a blue chakra (wheel) having 24 spokes. The ratio of the width to the length of the flag is two to three.

The color saffron symbolizes courage, the color white peace, and the color green prosperity. The charkha (spinning wheel) originally at the center stood for Gandhi’s spinning wheel, symbolizing self-sufficiency. It was later replaced by the Ashoka Chakra, the “wheel of the law” found in the emblems of the 3rd century BC Mauryan emperor Ashoka. The 24 spokes of the wheel signifies 24 hours and progress every hour.

indian-flag33_26The flag was designed by a freedom fighter called Pingali Venkayya and was officially adopted by India’s constituent assembly on July 22, 1947. There is an elaborate code of rules governing the correct use and display of the flag.

I,m never wrong, always right!
I thought i was wrong once, but I was wrong!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: